Presented by TP Mechanical | Provided by HORAN
Gluten is a protein found in grains, including wheat, barley and rye. Individuals may choose a gluten-free diet for several reasons. Whether you have celiac disease, gluten intolerance or are simply looking for a diet change, here are a few tips for transitioning to a gluten-free diet:
- Stock up on foods that are naturally gluten-free, including beans, eggs, meats and fish, fruits, vegetables and most dairy items.
- Find alternatives for gluten-laden staples. As gluten-free diets become more common for health and popularity reasons, many food manufacturers are now producing gluten-free breads, cereals and desserts.
- If you have celiac disease, be extremely careful of cross-contamination. For example, don’t share a jar of peanut butter with someone who spreads it on wheat bread. Simply dipping a knife back into the jar can cause contamination. Some individuals may experience a reaction to even a tiny amount of gluten, so be cautious with shared food and kitchens.